(1) Professional Preparation:
Vassar College:        B.A. (1963) (Summa cum Laude and Phi Beta Kappa)
Harvard University: M.A. (1964), Ph.D. (1970). Graduate advisor: Prof. K. Strauch MIT: Postdoc (1970-72), Research Physicist (1972-77). Postdoctoral advisor: Prof. S.C.C. Ting

(2) Scholarships and Fellowships:
1964-1965       Leopold Schepp Foundation Fellowship
1963-1964       Harvard Fellowship
1960-1963       Vassar Scholarship

(3) Appointments:

1998-present   Vilas Professor (highest ranking professorship), University of Wisconsin-Madison
1991 -1998      Hilldale Professorship, University of Wisconsin-Madison
1990-present   Enrico Fermi Distinguished Professor, University of Wisconsin-Madison
1983-present   Professor, Physics Dept., University of Wisconsin-Madison
1980-1983       Associate Professor, Physics Dept., University of Wisconsin-Madison
1977-1980       Assistant Professor, Physics Dept., University of Wisconsin-Madison

(4)  Awards:

  • 2021:  Phi Beta Kappa Excellence in Teaching Award
  • 1999 – present: Honored to be included in the Archive on “Contributions of Women to 20th Century Physics.” Unveiled at the APS Centennial Meeting (
  • 1998 – present : Vilas Professorship (highest ranking professorships at the University of Wisconsin)
  • 1996 : Elected to be a Fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences
  • 1995 : Recipient of the 1995 High Energy and Particle Physics Prize of the European Physical Society “for the first evidence for three-jet events in e+e collisions at PETRA,” which gives the first direct observation of the gluon (with P. Söding, B. Wiik, & G. Wolf)
  • 1995 : 1995 Executive Committee Special Prize of the European Physical Society
  • 1992 : Fellow of the American Physical Society
  • 1991 -1998 : Hilldale Professorship, University of Wisconsin-Madison
  • 1990 – present : Enrico Fermi Distinguished Professor of Physics, University of Wisconsin
  • 1981 : Romnes Faculty Award, University of Wisconsin-Madison (award given to outstanding faculty member soon after tenure)
  • 1980 : Outstanding Junior Investigator Award by the U.S. Department of Energy

(5) Committees:

  • 2006 – present : Advisory board for the Western ATLAS Tier 2 Center
  • 2001 – 2004: SLAC Scientific Policy Committee to advise Stanford University President
  • 1997 – 2001: General Councilor, The American Physical Society
  • 1993 – 1996 : High Energy Physics Advisory Panel, U.S Department of Energy
  • 1993 : DOE Annual Review Committee on SLAC programs
  • 1992 : DOE Review Committee on SLAC programs for SLC and SLD
  • 1989 – 1993 : Advisory Committee of CERN Users; appointed by the CERN Director-General, representing the non-member state users at CERN
  • 1987 – 1990 : Advisory Committee on Outstanding Junior Investigator Award, DOE
  • 1983 – 1985 : Experimental High Energy Physics Advisory Committee, SLAC

(6) Synergistic Activities:

  • 1) MIT Postdoc with the experiment that led to the discovery of the J/ψ particle (charmed quark) at Brookhaven National Laboratory (Nobel Prize for S.C.C. Ting and B. Richter in 1976)
  • 2) Leading figure for the Gluon discovery at DESY (co-recipient of the 1995 High Energy and Particle Physics Prize of the European Physical Society)
  • 3) Participation in and contribution to the discovery of CP Violation in B decays and to the measurements of the CKM angles β and α at the BaBar experiment
  • 4) Wu and her Wisconsin group of physicists played a leading and outstanding role in the discovery of the Higgs Boson: in the Hγγ , HZZ4 leptons and the Higgs combination effort. We have been among the major contributors and were among the first groups to obtain the five sigma observation, which contributed to the CERN announcement on July 4, 2012 of the discovery of a particle at ~125 GeV, now confirmed to be the Higgs boson.
  • 5) 48 graduate students have obtained Ph.D. degrees under the supervision of Sau Lan Wu. 29 of her former students and postdocs have faculty positions and 10 are permanent staff in national and international high energy laboratories. Their first postdoc positions after obtaining the PhD are also listed here:
    J. Freeman (FNAL), T. Barklow (SLAC), E. Wicklund (Caltech), H. Venkataramania (Yale), D. Strom (Chicago), M. Cherney (Berkeley), A. Caldwell (Columbia), S. Ritz (Columbia), D. Muller (SLAC), M. Takashima (CERN), D. Cowen (Caltech), J. Hilgart (CERN), J. Boudreau (CERN), J. Wear (U.C. Santa Cruz), Y. Pan (Wisconsin), D. Cinabro (Harvard), J. Pater (CERN), F. Webber (CERN), M. Walsh (Rutgers), L. Bellantoni (FNAL), Z. Feng (Johns Hopkins), Y. Gao (Harvard), J. Nachtman (UCLA), J. Grahl (Iowa), P. Elmer (Princeton), S. Armstrong (CERN), W. Orejudos (Berkeley), X. Wu (SBC Communications), O. Hayes (Booz Allen Hamilton), T. Greening (CERN), D. Ferguson (Wisconsin), J. Nielsen (Berkeley), E. Charles (Berkeley), P. McNamara (Rutgers), R. Liu (Berkeley Business School), J. Wu (Harvard), Z. Yu (Clear Shape Technologies), B. Cheng (Avestar-IP), K. Cranmer (BNL), A. Mihalyi (Princeton Consultants), K. Loureiro (Ohio State), P. Kutter (Citizen’s Insurance), W. Quayle (US ATLAS Fellow), E. Castaneda (Mexico Foreign Academic Fellow), H. Li (Stony Brook), G. Carrillo (Witwatersrand), A. Castaneda (Texas A&M), H. Wang (Berkeley).

(7) Collaborators & Other Affiliations:
TASSO Collaboration (1977-1989),     ALEPH Collaboration (1980-2001),
BABAR Collaboration (1995-2007),    ATLAS Collaboration (1993-present).

(8) Publications & Talks:  27 review articles, 1891 total publications in refereed journals.

(9) Ten selected publications: